CALL TODAY 301.476.4887

3500 Boston Street Suite 421 Baltimore, MD 21224

Do You Know the New Maryland Driving Laws

On October 1, 2014 new driving laws took effect that impact all Maryland motorists and increase penalties for a variety of motor vehicle offenses.

Jake’s Law: this law, named after 5 year old Jake Owen who was killed in a crash caused by a driver texting on a cell phone. Now, anyone over 18 who causes a crash while using a cell phone that results in the serious injury or death of another person will face increased penalties: (MVA) must assess 12 points against the driver’s license. A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to imprisonment for up to one year and/or a maximum fine of $5,000.

Move over law: in addition to being required to move over a lane or drop speed when passing a police traffic stop, drivers must do the same for tow trucks on the side of the road.78035454

Impaired driving: new laws increase penalties for drivers convicted of a third DUI or DWI offense (for either drugs or alcohol) from a maximum of one year imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $500, to a maximum of three years imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $3,000.

Safe driving habits can save lives- and save money!

Contact your MAIF agent to see if you can lower your car insurance premium for a safe driving record.