Maryland State Auto Insurance Requirements
Most states across the USA are mandatory vehicle insurance states – including Maryland. In Maryland, you must at least have liability insurance in order to register your vehicle. You are responsible for maintaining insurance for all of your vehicles at all times with an insurance company licensed in the state of Maryland.
What is the minimum amount of coverage required?
Maryland requires that all drivers maintain minimum insurance liability coverage on their vehicles. The required amounts are:
- $30,000 for bodily injury per person
- $60,000 for bodily injury for two or more people
- $15,000 for property damage
What happens if my vehicle is not insured?
The state of Maryland imposes fines and penalties for drivers who do not maintain insurance for their vehicles. You can expect:
- A $150 fine for the first 30 days and $7 for each additional day (annual $2500 maximum per uninsured vehicle).
- A suspended registration (driving with a suspended registration can result in vehicle impoundment, tickets and/or additional fines).
If you do not resolve your insurance dilemma or respond to MVA insurance notifications, your case will be transferred to the Central Collections Unit (CCU) for the state of Maryland. If your case is sent to CCU, you are subject to a 17% collection fee and your income tax return will be intercepted.
Having an uninsured vehicle in the state of Maryland can also cause you to:
- Lose license plates and vehicle registration privileges
- Pay a restoration fee of up to $25 to reinstate your registration
- Be prohibited from renewing a suspended registration or registering any future vehicles until all insurance violations are cleared
- Pay a fine of up to $1,000
I’ve been turned down by private insurance companies. How can I get coverage?
Maryland Auto Insurance can provide coverage for your vehicle if you:
- Are unable to obtain car insurance with a private company
- Have been denied coverage by two or more carriers or reasons other than failure to make payments
- Live in and are a Maryland resident
- Are licensed in the state of Maryland and your vehicle registration is current
If you have a clean driving record – free of accidents and traffic violations, you may be eligible for the MAIF’s Safe Driver discounts. MAIF also offers discounts for drivers who maintain continuous coverage of 12 or more months.
Driving uninsured in the state of Maryland is prohibited and can become very costly if you get caught. Don’t take the risk. Whether you are new to Maryland or have been turned down by private providers, Maryland Auto Insurance will provide insurance for your vehicle. No one is turned away. Contact us today to discuss an insurance plan that is right for you.