CALL TODAY 301.476.4887

3500 Boston Street Suite 421 Baltimore, MD 21224

Traffic Violations and Your Drivers License

If you have traffic violations and/or outstanding parking tickets, you could not only be facing fines, but you may have to appear in traffic court. Depending on the severity of the violation you may also have:

  • Points added to your driving record
  • Actions are taken against your driver’s license
  • To attend mandatory classes pertaining to the offense/violation
  • Increased car insurance rates

If points are added to your driving record, your car insurance premiums will increase, and you could be at risk of losing your driving privileges. For severe traffic violations such as a DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) come with an automatic suspension of your driver’s license. Other violations that result in immediate driver’s license suspension include:

  • Accumulation of points on your driving record
  • Causing a serious accident
  • Habitual speeding violations
  • Pedestrian endangerment violations
  • Causing an accident that results in death

If you go to traffic court and have been found guilty of your traffic violations, the presiding judge may require you to attend traffic school or attend defensive driving classes. Taking these classes will remove the points from your driving record.

Maryland Point System

If you plead guilty or are convicted in traffic court, points will be added to your driving record. The number of points added to your driving record depends on the severity of the violation. Here is Maryland’s point system:

  • 3-4 points: You will receive a warning letter sent by the Maryland MVA.
  • 5-7 points: Maryland motor vehicle laws will require you to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
  • 8-11 points: Your license will be suspended.
  • 12+ points: Your license will be revoked.

Common citations come with fewer points than the more severe violations. Some common low-point traffic violations include:

  • Not stopping at a red light signal or stop sign.
  • Changing lanes in an unsafe situation
  • Failing to use a turn signal
  • Not turning in a “turn only” lane
  • Speeding tickets (depends on how fast you were driving or the amount over the posted limit)

How Long Do Points Stay on My Record?

Depending on the severity of the driving offense, the points could stay on your record up to 10 years.

The state will expunge your record by:

  • 31 days after your most recent conviction date for motorists who have:
    • Never had their license suspended for driver safety-related reasons.
    • Never had a license revocation.
    • No moving violations on their records.
  • 3 years after your last moving violation conviction date for drivers who have:
    • Never had a license suspension for driver safety reasons.
    • Never had a license revocation.
    • Moving violations on their record.
  • 5 years after your last moving violation conviction date for drivers who have:
    • Only had their driver’s license suspended 1 time for reasons of driver safety.
    • Never had a license revocation.
  • 10 years after your most recent moving violation conviction date or grant of probation before judgment in some instances for drivers with:
    • Multiple license suspensions.
    • Previous license revocations.