CALL TODAY 301.476.4887

3500 Boston Street Suite 421 Baltimore, MD 21224

Stay In The Know: Updated Maryland Cell Phone Laws

Everyone has been guilty of being on their phone and driving at some point in time or another. Whether it is a phone call, texting, GPS, or checking our social media pages, it is not more important than your life or someone else’s. Even if you think you are capable of being on your cell phone while driving, you are not, and an accident can happen in the blink of an eye. If you have a long commute and need to use your phone while you are commuting, it is recommended to invest in a handsfree device such as an earpiece so you can still talk and pay attention to the variety of different things that can happen while you are driving. Not to mention, there are new laws in place that now can affect your driving record and insurance premiums if you are given a citation for your using cell phone while driving.

Violations and Consequences

In Maryland, it is illegal for all drivers to use a handheld phone while operating their vehicle.

A cellphone ticket can carry a fine of up to $75 for the 1st offense, $125 for the 2nd, and $175 for the 3rd and further infractions. The only way that points will be added to your driving record is if your cellphone violation played a part in an accident. This will cause your insurance premium to rise. If you are under the age of 18, a cellphone violation will have you ending up with your license suspended for 90 days.

Also illegal in Maryland, is the use of text messaging which includes writing, sending or reading text messages while driving.

Text messaging fines are more severe than talking on the phone as a texting violation is a misdemeanor and carries a $500 fine. It will also add one point to your driving record causing your insurance premiums to go up. Also, just living talking on the phone, if you are under the age of 18, your insurance premiums are already more likely to be higher, however, if you are caught texting, you can lose your license for up to 90 days.

Contact Us For A Quote

If you are a new driver or about to become one and need insurance, contact Maryland Auto Insurance today for a no-hassle quote. Also, if you have any questions about the new cell phone laws that have taken place in the state of Maryland, we will be happy to discuss those with you, and how they will affect your insurance policy.