MAIF stands for Maryland Auto Insurance Fund, an authorized independent Maryland state insurance provider that issues and underwrites auto liability insurance for Maryland drivers who cannot obtain auto insurance on the private market. Roadway Insurance, Inc makes it easy to get auto insurance.
Know Your Maryland Car Insurance Requirements
- Maryland state resident
- Licensed in the state of Maryland or have a current Maryland registration
- Unable to obtain Maryland car insurance through a private carrier
If you meet these requirements, you qualify for Maryland Auto Insurance. No one is turned down, even if you have a bad driving record or multiple offenses, you will be covered by a Maryland Auto Insurance Fund Policy.
Most states across the USA are mandatory vehicle insurance states – including Maryland. In Maryland, you must at least have liability insurance in order to register your vehicle. You are responsible for maintaining insurance for all of your vehicles at all times with an insurance company licensed in the state of Maryland.
No matter where you live or where you get your car insurance from, every state will have its minimum requirements. This is what is required by law in order for a vehicle to be legally operated on its roads. Maryland’s requirements are higher than the national average, but by no means are they at the top. Maryland requires that all drivers maintain minimum insurance liability coverage on their vehicles. The required amounts are:
- $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $60,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $15,000 Property damage liability coverage
Liability coverage for bodily injury would cover things like lost wages, medical expenses, and pain and suffering after an accident. Liability coverage for property damage would cover the repair or replacement of damage to property. Many auto insurers recommend carrying comprehensive auto coverage, but Maryland does not require you to carry this on your policy. Comprehensive coverage would pay for vehicle damage not caused by a car accident. These types of damage could include vandalism, theft, fires, or even natural disasters.
Another insurance not required by Maryland is collision insurance. This insurance helps to pay for vehicle repairs or vehicle replacement when you are involved in an at-fault accident with another vehicle or object. Objects could include things like trees, light poles, or a fence. Many motorists opt-in to carry this coverage, but it is a way to keep premiums down if not desired.
Make sure you tailor your policy to your needs while still maintaining what is required by law.
What happens if my vehicle is not insured?
The state of Maryland imposes fines and penalties for drivers who do not maintain car insurance for their vehicles. You can expect:
- A $150 fine for the first 30 days and $7 for each additional day (annual $2500 maximum per uninsured vehicle).
- A suspended registration (driving with a suspended registration can result in vehicle impoundment, tickets, and/or additional fines).
Having an uninsured vehicle in the state of Maryland can also cause you to:
- Lose license plates and vehicle registration privileges
- Pay a restoration fee of up to $25 to reinstate your registration
- Be prohibited from renewing a suspended registration or registering any future vehicles until all insurance violations are cleared
- Pay a fine of up to $1,000
If you have a clean driving record – free of accidents and traffic violations, you may be eligible for the MAIF Safe Driver discounts. MAIF also offers discounts for drivers who maintain continuous coverage of 12 or more months.
Driving uninsured in the state of Maryland is prohibited and can become very costly if you get caught. Don’t take the risk. Whether you are new to Maryland or have been turned down by private providers, Maryland Auto Insurance will provide insurance for you and your vehicle. No one is turned away. Contact us today at Roadway Insurance to discuss an insurance plan that is right for you.