Knowing the insurance requirements for your particular state helps keep your covered and well informed. The Maryland Auto Insurance Fund is committed to the drivers of Maryland and works with them to get them the auto insurance they need. We have helped compile a list of requirements that every Maryland driver must have in order to be covered and protected.
A) If you are a driver in Maryland, you need to be insured by a licensed and registered by a Maryland auto insurance company at all times. At a minimum, your car insurance must cover:
- $30,000 for bodily injury
- $60,000 for 2 or more people
- $15,000 property damage
B) If you forgot to return your license plates before you moved out of Maryland, please contact the MVA and provide them with the following information:
- Copy of registration from the state your car is currently titled in
- The title date for your car in the current state
- Maryland tag and title number
- If you haven’t gotten a title for your car in your current state, you must get in contact with your car insurance company and tell them to provide us with policy information with the beginning and end dates
C) You need to return your current license plates to an MVA branch before you cancel your auto insurance.
D) When you move to Maryland, you need to convert your auto insurance to a Maryland auto insurance. There are costly fines for driving uninsured in the state of Maryland auto insurance is a time sensitive matter, so be diligent in your effort to convert your auto insurance and find an auto insurance in Maryland.