If you are a registered Maryland driver, you are required to carry car insurance. While some lenders require higher coverage, Maryland car insurance requirements for legal purposes are universal for every driver. If you don’t meet these requirements, you could face severe penalties, and not just the out-of-pocket costs for an accident.
What Are the Maryland Car Insurance Requirements?
Maryland drivers are required to carry a minimum auto liability of 30/60/15. This means that a diver needs coverage equal to or greater than the following:
$30,000/person or $60,000/accident for bodily injury
$15,000/accident for property damage
These numbers are just the minimum legal requirements. Many drivers choose additional insurance coverage to further protect themselves and their finances in case of an accident.
Additional Insurance Options
Auto liability insurance is required for every driver, and the minimum varies from state to state. However, you can choose to protect yourself with further insurance coverage.
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage – Provides additional coverage if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist or are part of a hit-and-run case.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – Provides reimbursement for personal injury-related costs such as medical expenses, lost income, and funerary expenses.
- Collision Coverage – Provides additional coverage for property damage in the event of a collision. This additional insurance is often required when leasing a vehicle.
- Comprehensive Coverage – Provides coverage for non-accident-related damages such as weather, fire, and theft.
What Happens if You Don’t Meet the Minimum Requirements?
Driving while uninsured or underinsured can be disastrous in several ways. Not only are you responsible for paying out of pocket after an accident, but you could be in trouble with the law as well. If you don’t maintain continuous insurance coverage that meets the minimum requirements, you could face:
- Fines up to $150 for 30 days, with an additional $7/day you continue to not be covered
- Loss of vehicle registration and/or license plate
- Additional vehicle registration requirement fee of $25 once you are covered again
- The inability to register for future vehicles or renew current registrations until coverage is met
Depending on the length of time you have been driving uninsured, the court may apply additional fines and penalties.
Where to Get Maryland Insurance
If you aren’t currently covered by car insurance, you’re risking your driving privilege and your financial future. MAIF insurance providers are available to help ensure drivers meet the minimum requirements for Maryland insurance. They can also provide you with additional insurance plans that can cover whatever you need them to. If you need Maryland car insurance, call a MAIF provider today at 301.476.4887 to learn what plans are available to you.